Kristen Hudson, HSTW Site Coordinator at Northwestern Local Schools

Congratulations to Kristen Hudson, HSTW Site Coordinator at Northwestern High School, the recipient of the 2021 HSTW High School Leadership Award: You Achieved Something Great! 

Mrs. Hudson is one of five 2021 HSTW/MMGW Leadership Award Winners. District, building, and teacher leaders from HSTW NE Ohio Region member districts and schools were eligible to apply for the 2021 HSTW/MMGW Leadership Awards. Leaders were nominated by their districts or schools based on their accomplishments in implementing the High Schools That Work (HSTW) or Making Middle Grades Work (MMGW) school improvement design. 

Randal Hafner, Principal of Northwestern High School nominated Mrs. Hudson, stating “Kristen’s leadership has been a driving force in making positive changes and maintaining focus on providing interventions and enrichment during Extra Help and Husky Huddle since she began teaching at Northwestern High School in the fall of 2013. Kristen is an active member in all Northwestern’s leadership teams (DLT, BLT, and TBTs). She has taken part in the development of our Local Literacy Plan while serving as a member of our Literacy Task Force Team. Kristen has over a decade of experience working collaboratively with HSTW as a site coordinator at Loudonville-Perrysville Junior High School (2010-2012), Loudonville High School (2012-2013), and Northwestern High School (2013-present). She has effectively used her educational experiences to help monitor data and implement best practices for improving the learning environment for our students.”

HSTW NE Ohio Region and HSTW Ohio Network will recognize the winners of the 2021 HSTW/MMGW Leadership Awards at the May 5, 2021 HSTW/MMGW End-of Year Reconnect and Best Practice Showcase. Diana Rogers, Regional Coordinator, and Jeremy Corbisello, Chair,  stated, “This year’s leadership award winners are well deserving and exemplify the work schools achieved by daring leaders who take on challenges, celebrate all successes, and recognize everyone who’s responsible for achieving the results.”

2021 HSTW/MMGW Leadership Awards: You’ve Achieved Something Great!  

  • Kristen Hudson, HSTW Site Coordinator, Northwestern High School, Northwestern Local Schools, 2021 HSTW High School Leadership Award

  • Paula Baco, Supervisor/Interim Director, Trumbull Career & Technical Center, 2021 HSTW Career Technical Education School Leadership Award and 2021 Burkholder Leadership Scholarship

  • Shana Wydra, Director of STEM and Career Technical Education,  Steubenville City Schools, 2021 HSTW District Leadership Award and 2021 Burkholder Leadership Scholarship

  • Justin M. Jennings, CEO, Youngstown City Schools, 2021 HSTW District Leadership Award

  • Vincent Lindsey, Principal, Massillon Junior High School, Massillon City Schools, 2021 MMGW Middle School Leadership Award